My Home

A Big Announcement

butterfly5Hello readers! I’m so grateful that you take the time to read this little blog, and I’ve had an idea that will change the way North Leads To Home is run in a very exciting way, so I thought I’d share as much as I can for now. As you may have noticed, posts have been a lot less regular recently. I’m reaching the end of my three year degree, and work is taking over leaving me with very little spare time to spend writing quality posts. I’ve been taking this time to figure out where I want this blog to go as next year I’ll have the flexibility to pursue this blog and other projects in a way that I haven’t been able to before, although this is all dependent on the type of job I’ve found.

For now, I’m sad to announce that North Leads To Home will be taking a bit of a chill out for a while. I’ll post as much as I can, but I have a dissertation to complete and two extremely time pressured essays to prepare for and unfortunately they have to take priority. I’ll still be opening the North Leads To Home Etsy shop at the start of May, so keep a look out for a post on that soon.

BUT…

I also have a big announcement. After finishing my Decor8 Blog Boss course, I was inspired to follow my crazy dreams and try to find a way to make them a reality. While I love interior design, writing really is my passion. I’m writing a novel at the moment, but that’s a whole other story. I’ve been thinking for a while about looking for a job in an interior design magazine, but to do that I’d have to move back to London; something I want to avoid for as long as possible. So I may have reached an extremely fun compromise where my two favorite things, writing and interior design, can exist in a platform with less regular output than a blog, while still retaining the quality.

At the end of May, I’m hoping to launch a trial edition of North Leads To Home e-magazine (which will, of course, be free!). It may not work, it might be so much fun and a new way of sharing online, but it’s an experiment I’ve already started and I hope you are even a little bit as excited about it as I am. I’ll be tweeting about my updates, so you can follow me here if you want to keep informed!

KiKi

PS: If I do decide to make the e-magazine regular, I’ll keep this blog too. Not every category I post about is suitable for an e-magazine, and next year I’ll have a whole new flat to decorate. I couldn’t help but blog about that!

9 thoughts on “A Big Announcement

  1. An emagazine sounds amazing – I wish you all the luck in the world! Get your studies done and then you can concentrate and what really makes your heart sing 🙂 I absolutely loved the Blog Boss course and have so many dreams myself I want to turn into reality. Good luck!

    • Thank you! It seems pretty daunting now, but I’m so excited to get started and it will be so lovely once my degree is done to have a bit of time over the summer to really throw myself into it! 🙂

  2. This is so exciting- good for you! You should definitely pursue your dreams, Similarly to you blogging has made me realise that my dream is to work somewhere in the interior design world, so that is what’s happening 🙂 Good luck, can’t wait to see the first issue!!

  3. good luck with all your projects! really looking forward to seeing the e-magazine.

    it always makes me a bit embarrassed when I read about all these people being so productive and doing all these exciting things while I’m feeling a bit lazy.

    oh and a question: what’s so bad about living in London? (where do you live now and what’s so great about not being in London?).

    • Thank you 🙂
      Nothing’s really bad about living in London, it’s just very expensive and I couldn’t afford to live alone there. Little things like the cinema, cabs, food, it’s all a lot cheaper where I live which means I can have those little treats. I also get waaaay more living space for my money here which is great too!
      Off the boring topic of money, a lot of my best friends live up here and it’s nice to be really close to them. I also think people here are friendlier, if that’s possible!

Leave a Reply

