The Big Move

The Big Move: Light & Bright Lampshades

The big move is a month and a half away and I can’t believe how quickly its come around. At the moment, our primary concerns are making sure we don’t have too many things to move on the day and ensuring we have somewhere to stay the night we’re ‘homeless’ during the changeover period. But being practical doesn’t mean everything has to be boring! I’ve been thinking about my major concerns with the flat that we’re moving to, namely our serious lack of garden (its just a concrete slab reminiscent of a prison exercise yard,) and the fact that the window in my loft room is in the slant of the ceiling very close to the floor. Today, I’ll be addressing the light issue.

My next room will have very little natural light, and as someone that is drawn to light, bright spaces this is a bit of a problem. Dark rooms can be a bit depressing, and as I’ll be doing most of my work at my desk in my room I’ll need good light anyway. To combat this light problem I’ve decided to invest in a tall floor lamp, probably like the Ikea model shown below. This Alang floor lamp is perfect as it has an ajustable hight and (I hope!) you can change the lampshade. And to me, the lampshade is crucial.

LampshadeI browsed the internet looking for some lampshades that will maximise light within the room while still looking pretty, and this is what I found!

Malin Trad, Ikea, £6
Kitty Lace Metal Pendant, Next Home, £25
Blue Stripe, Next Home, £18
Mariposas, Zara Home, £39.99
Emmie Blom, Ikea, £5

I think my favourite is probably the Kitty Lace Metal Pendant, as it will probably give the most light. I also love the faux lace detail, which is girlie without being too overpowering. However, I’m unsure as to whether it will actually fit on a lamp (as opposed to a ceiling light fixture) so this will need a bit more research.

If the Mariposas shade wasn’t so expensive, I’d suggest it for my housemate as she has an obsession with butterflies. I thought I’d include it as it is a beautiful item, even if it is outside of my price range.

To be honest, I’m still on the look out for better and less space consuming lighting options for rented accommodation where nails, let alone wiring anything, is a massive no-no. If anyone has any ideas please let me know, I’d love to hear from you!

Screen Shot 2013-04-14 at 22.37.13.png

One thought on “The Big Move: Light & Bright Lampshades

  1. Pingback: The Big Move: New Flat Floor Plan | NLTH

Leave a Reply

